We have booked Villa Belga for 12 nights late May 2017 and were the first visitors post the winter break. The setting and location is beautiful - very rural house and peaceful setting. Probably worth mentioning that direct access to the villa is only via a small gravel road uphill which can be nasty for bigger cars - no issue with a small rental car though. There is the chance to park approximatly 100 m away from the villa at the grave yard public parking which is safe. You will need to walk uphill to the villa from there. Not an issue for us as we like quiet neighbors but might be of concern for the ones that do not wish to spend their holidays next to a grave yard.
The host was very friendly and people in Croatia are generally great. On arrival we received a big fruit basked and two bottles of local red vine, very nice.
The outdoor area of the villa is fantastic, the pool is cool with some shade, kids play ground is fantastic. Coming to indoors, the villa has a couple of downsides, mainly connected to cleanliness. First off all it smells old and moldy, in particular in the two ground floor bed rooms which we did use for bike storage. It might well be that it was probably not aired sufficently over the winter. In the top floor bedrooms, the smell was apparent but after some airing it was all right. However, one wardrobe in the fist floor bedroom had severe mould in the drawer, smelly, not nice and not what you would expect from a villa in this category. Bathrooms are tiny, one bathroom had mould on the sealing, the sink pipe was leaking and the toilette bowl was not properly fixed. Overall cleanliness was not too great.
During the last week, the pool pump broke down and was not repaired so the pool was full of crap, it was OK in the first week though.
As per myistria.com description, there would be a weekly change of bed linen, there was none in our case.
In a nutshell, the holiday was very nice except for the issues listed above.
Hope this review is useful.
Dear guests, we thank you for the review. We are sorry that you did not contact us during your stay because we could have acted in this case.
We asked the owner about all of the downsides that you mentioned. She said that she was very sorry. Regarding the mould in the drawer and on the ceiling- she said that she saw it afterwards and that she talked with the cleaning service already, who will take care of it.
The pool pump did get broken and it was not in function the last two days of your stay, that is also true, but she said took care of it. The owner also thanks you for the review, because it will help her to solve some problems that she did not even know about, so that everything can be perfectly prepared for the next guests.
Best regards, My Istria